Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
Next Conference
Share |

2016 SMA Conference

 

The 54th Annual SMA Conference will be held in Atlanta, Georgia, at the J. W. Marriott Atlanta Buckhead, 3300 Lenox Road NE, November 2-5, 2016.


IMPORTANT DATES

Due Date       Description Details
JUNE 30 Submission deadline Research Tracks http:/www.marketingadvances.org/?page=24
JUNE 30 Submission deadline Distinguished Teacher Competition http:/www.marketingadvances.org/?page=AxcessCapon
JUNE 30 Submission deadline for Innovations in Teaching Competition http://www.marketingadvances.org/?page=48
     
JULY 1 Submission deadline for SMA Doctoral Dissertation Proposal Competition http://marketingadvances.org/?page=18
     
 AUG 31 Final formatted manuscripts due  Jie Fowler at jgfowler@valdosta.edu
     
 AUG 31` Final date to request specific date/time to present your work Contact Alvin J. Williams at awilliams@southalabama.edu 
     
SEPT 1 Submission deadline for SMA Teaching Moments Send submissions directly to D. Joel Whalen (jwhalen@depaul.edu) Kesha Coker (kcoker@eiu.edu), and Jeff Tanner (jtanner@odu.edu)
     
OCT 1 Last day for early bird conference registration http://www.marketingadvances.org/?page=A3
OCT 1 Last day for early bird registration for SMA Doctoral Consortium http://www.marketingadvances.org/?page=20
     
OCT 12
5:00 PM
Special room rate ($164 + taxes) at J. W. Marriott Buckhead ends Call J. W. Marriott Buckhead reservations at (404) 262-3344;
Please identify your association with SMA


Conference Hotel 

Discover the timeless elegance of the J. W. Marriott hotel in Buckhead, GA located in the heart of a vibrant business, shopping and entertainment district. The J. W. Marriott Buckhead is connected to Lenox Square, and is conveniently situated across the street from the Lenox MARTA station. This hotel’s luxurious environment in Buckhead, Atlanta has been crafted for approachable leisure. Located mere steps from Phipps Plaza, Legoland, fine dining, Buckhead Spas and nightlife, the facility offers 371 exquisitely decorated rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of eloquently modern event spaces..

SMA Room Rate:      $164 for reservations made on or before 5:00 PM, October 12, 2016
Reservation:              Online reservations forthcoming - OR - call the hotel directly at 404-262-3344
Transportation:          The J. W. Marriott is a $3.50 MARTA ride from Hartsfield-Atlanta Airport


Research Track Chairs
[send submissions to applicable Track Chair(s); DO NOT submit manuscript through the Website]

 

Track

Chair(s)

Contact

Consumer Behavior

Marco Wolf

University of Southern Mississippi, USA

 

Astrid Keel

University of La Verne, USA

marco.wolf@usm.edu

 

 

akeel@laverne.edu

 

 

 

Cross-Cultural

& Global Marketing

Jie G. Fowler

Valdosta State University, USA

jgfowler@valdosta.edu

 

 

 

Logistics & Supply Chain Management

Reham Eltantawy

University of North Florida

Reham.eltantawy@unf.edu

 

 

 

Marketing Education

John D. Branch, University of Michigan, USA

jdbranch@umich.edu

 

 

 

Marketing Ethics,

Law & Public Policy

C. Michael Powell

University of North Georgia, USA

c.michael.powell@ung.edu

 

 

 

Marketing Research

Kevin J. Shanahan

Mississippi State University, USA

kshanahan@cobilan.msstate.edu

 

 

 

Marketing Strategy

Debika Sihi

Southwestern University, USA

sihid@southwestern.edu

 

 

 

Personal Selling & Sales Management

Wendy Ritz

Fayetteville State University, USA
                       

writz@uncfsu.edu

 Pricing

Mario V. Gonzalez-Fuentes

Trinity University


 mgonza13@trinity.edu

Product & Brand Management

Pushkala Raman

Texas Woman's University

praman@mail.twu.edu

 

 

 

Promotions

Kate Pounders

University of Texas at Austin

kate.pounders@austin.utexas.edu

 

 

 

Retailing

Charles A. Ingene
University of Oklahoma

Maria Kalamas
Kennesaw State University

caingene@ou.edu


mkalamas@kennesaw.edu

 Services Marketing

Stephen Gillison

 Stephanie-gillison@utc.edu

 

University of Tennessee at Chattanooga, USA

Mary P. Harrison
Birmingham-Southern College



mharriso@bsu.edu

 

 

 

Social Media and Technology

Velitchka (Vili) Kaltcheva, Loyola Marymount
University of Los Angeles, USA

vkaltche@lmu.edu

 

 

 

     

Tourism, Hospitality, Food, Music, and Sports Marketing

Tony L. Henthorne
University of Nevada, Las Vegas



tony.henthorne@unlv.edu

 

 

Teaching Track Chairs
[send submission to applicable Track Chair(s); DO NOT submit manuscript through the Website; presenting on Thursday, November 3rd]

 

Distinguished Teaching Competition

Barbara Ross Wooldridge

The University of Texas at Tyler, USA

Barbara_wooldridge@uttyler.edu

 

Innovations in Teaching Competition

Larry Neale

Queensland University of Technology, Australia

l.neale@qut.edu.au

 

 

Event Chairs

 

Steven J. Shaw Best Paper in Conference Committee

          Thomas L. Baker, Chair

          The University of Alabama, USA

          tbaker@cba.ua.edu

 

Doctoral Dissertation Proposal Competition
[send submissions to applicable Track Chair(s); DO NOT submit manuscript through the Website; presenting on Friday, November 4th; attendance at the 2016 SMA Conference required for winners]

Robert E. McDonald, Chair

Texas Tech University, USA

bob.mcdonald@ttu.edu

 

27th Annual SMA Doctoral Consortium

(8:30 AM - 5:30 PM on Wednesday, November 2nd, and Thursday, November 3rd; requires nomination by faculty member and acceptance by Chair)

Tracy A. Suter

Oklahoma State University, USA

tracy.suter@okstate.edu

 

9th Annual SMA Structural Equation Modeling Workshop

(Wednesday, November 2nd, 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM, November 2nd; requires personal PC with AMOS software; subject to registration fee of $200)

Barry J. Babin, Facilitator

Louisiana Tech University, USA

bbabin@latech.edu

 

           Joseph F. Hair, Jr., Facilitator

           Kennesaw State University, USA
           jhair3@kennesaw@edu

2nd Annual Effective Use of Simulation Workshop

(2:00 PM - 5:30 PM, Wednesday, November 2nd; subject to registration fee of $75)

Catharine Curran, Facilitator

University of Massachusetts Dartmouth, USA

cathy.curran@umassd.edu

 

2nd Annual Online Teaching Workshop

(8:00 AM - 12:00 PM, Wednesday, November 2nd; subject to registration fee of $75)

Catharine Curran, Facilitator

University of Massachusetts Dartmouth, USA

cathy.curran@umassd.edu



               

   

2015 Distinguished Scholar (presentation Friday, November 4th, 10:30 AM)

         

fac-db-kumarV. Kumar (VK) is the Regents Professor; Lenny Distinguished Chair Professor of Marketing; Executive Director, Center for Excellence in Brand & Customer Management; and Director, Ph.D. program in Marketing at the J. Mack Robinson College of Business, Georgia State University.  VK is currently Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Marketing. He has been recognized with seven lifetime achievement awards in marketing strategy, inter-organizational issues, retailing, business- to- business marketing, and marketing research from the AMA and other professional organizations, the Paul D. Converse Award, the Sheth Foundation/Journal of Marketing Long term Impact Award, and the Gary L. Lilien ISMS-MSI Practice Prize Award.  VK has published over 200 articles in many scholarly journals in marketing including the Harvard Business Review, Sloan Management Review, Journal of Marketing, Journal of Marketing Research, Marketing Science, Management Science and Operations Research. His books include Managing Customers for Profit, Customer Relationship Management (CRM), Customer Lifetime Value, Marketing Research, Statistical Methods in CRM and International Marketing Research.



 

Last Update 5/816

    

Community Search
Sign In


Forgot your password?

Haven't registered yet?