The Society for Marketing Advances (SMA), a premier marketing association that hosts an annual conference that brings together marketing educators and professionals from throughout the United States and abroad.

SMA is founded to foster service, research, and education in all phases of marketing and to encourage the exchange of ideas among members with similar interest.  SMA endeavors to promote the growth of intellectual leadership in the field of marketing on the part of teachers, researchers, and students in universities and interest executive business and government.



Membership is open to:

  • Persons actively engaged in teaching marketing or a related area in academe at a university, college, junior college, community college, technical institute, extension school,, or management training center,
  • Graduate students with a major or minor in marketing, and
  • Business or government executives who are supportive of the objectives of SMA.

Membership Term

  • Annual membership year end November 
  • Membership dues are not prorated

Annual Membership Dues

  • Regular = $110.00
  • Student = $100.00


Now in its 54th year, the SMA Annual Conference brings together marketing educators and professionals from throughout the United States and abroad.  The 2016 Annual SMA Conference will be held at J. W. Marriott Buckhead in beautiful Atlanta, GA from November 2-5, 2016

Conference Registration Includes FREE membership!

2016 conference registration fee includes complimentary SMA membership and special rates for hard copies of the Journal of Marketing Theory and Practice and Marketing Education Review.    

Conference Registration Fees (includes conference and complimentary SMA membership)

  • Regular = $325.00*
  • Student = $200.00*
  • Doctoral Consortium Student = $250.00*
  • Winner of Doctoral Dissertation Proposal Competition = Complimentary 

 *Subject to $50.00 late fee if paid after October 1, 2016

Organizational Structure

Executive Committee

  • President
  • President-Elect
  • Secretary
  • Treasurer
  • Director of Electronic Communications
  • Director of Academic Placement Services
  • Executive Director

Board of Governors

  • Three immediate past Presidents
  • Three SMA Fellows
  • Three SMA Members-at-Large
  • SMA Executive Director
  • SMA President
  • SMA Program Chair (President-Elect)

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *