Print Page   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
Innovations in Teaching Competition
Share |

Cengage Pride-Ferrell Innovations in Teaching Competition

Innovation here refers to novel activities, teaching methods, assignments, exercises, instructor/student involvement, etc. which benefit marketing students. The competition is open to all instructors of marketing, part or full-time, including doctoral students, from all types of institutions. It especially welcomes innovations which contribute to active learning.

Initial submissions are limited to 5 pages double spaced. Typically, a submission includes (but is certainly not limited to):

  1. An overview of the current situation which highlights the ‘a-ha’ moment which led to the innovation,
  2. A description of the innovation,
  3. Brief guidelines on how to implement the innovation, and
  4. A discussion of its use.

In order to encourage instructors to experiment, the focus of the competition is on innovation; empirical ‘proof’ that it works, and works better than other methods, is not required. However, submissions must not have been published in whole (or in spirit) elsewhere. Submissions to other competitions are also welcome, unless they were winners. The deadline is June 1, 2018.


Submission Process

To submit, please go to

Click here for EasyChair submission instructions.


Proceedings Submission Process

If your submission is accepted for presentation at the conference, the final, formatted document must be submitted to the EasyChair online portal (click here for more information). Follow the link below for formatting and submission requirements.

Innovative Teacher Competition Style Sheet

The finalists of the competition are published in the SMA Proceedings, and the winner is usually asked to submit a full manuscript for next year’s special issue on teaching innovations in Marketing Education Review. 

Contact Us


Questions should be sent by email to:
Larry Neale
Queensland University of Technology


Previous Winners

  • 2017 - Lora Harding, Belmont University, USA
  • 2016 - Jane Machin, Radford University, USA
  • 2015 - Elliott Manzon, University of Cincinnati, USA 
  • 2014 - Dawn Edmiston, The College of William and Mary, USA 
  • 2013 - Sara Liao-Troth, Georgia College & State University, Stephanie P. Thomas, Georgia Southern University, G Scott Webb, Brigham Young University
  • 2012 - Fred L. Miller, Gary Brockway, Timothy Johnston, Stefan Linnhoff, W. Glynn Mangold, Sam McNeely, Joy Roach, Kathy Smith, Murray State University 
  • 2011 - Michael A. Levin, Otterbein university
  • 2010 - Brian A. Vander Schee, Aurora University, Larry Neale, Queensland University of Technology,  Abby Cathcart, Queensland University of Techology
  • 2009 - Aron Levin and Greg Martin, Northern Kentucky University
  • 2008 - Tracy Tuten, Longwood University
  • 2007 - Andrew J. Newman, Manchester Business School
  • 2007 - Chuck Hermans, Missouri State University
  • 2007 - Barbara Wooldridge, The University of Texas at Tyler
  • 2006 - Kevin J Shanahan, The University of Texas at Tyler
  • 2005 - Diana Haytko, Missouri State University
  • 2004 - Barbara Wooldridge, The University of Texas at Tyler
  • 2003 - Catherine Curran, Creighton University
  • 2002 - John Branch, Washington University



Last Updated on 08/30/2018

Community Search
Sign In